Researcher Profiles

Mr Jack Gillespie

Postgraduate Student
Faculty of Sciences

I received my BSc. (Hons) from the University of Adelaide in 2014 after spending the year conducting my honours research in collaboration with academics at the State Key Laboratory of Lithospheric Evolution at the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Beijing.

Dr Theresa Hickey

Senior Research Fellow - DRMCRL
Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences

Dr Hickey is a Royal Adelaide Hospital (RAH) Research Foundation Career Development Fellow at the Dame Rome Mitchell Cancer Research Laboratories (DRMCRL), School of Medicine, University of Adelaide. She was the single recipient of this highly competitive award. Dr Hickey was awarded a PhD in Medicine by the University of Adelaide in December 2006 for research on androgen receptor (AR) signalling in polycystic ovary syndrome (PCOS), receiving the Vice Chancellor’s special commendation for contribution to field of study.

Dr Tamara Varcoe

NHMRC Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences

Dr Tamara Varcoe is a postdoctoral research fellow in the Robinson Research Institute at the University of Adelaide in the Circadian Physiology Research Group. She completed her PhD 2008 at The University of Adelaide, under the supervision of Professor David Kennaway, where she investigated the role of serotonin receptors in the mammalian circadian timing system. Her research now focuses on how the circadian system regulates diverse physiological processes including reproduction and metabolism.

Dr Jesia Berry

Data Manager
Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences

Jesia is a Data Manager for the Australian Cerebral Palsy (CP) Biobank, and a member of the Australian Collaborative Cerebral Palsy Research Group. The Biobank contains DNA samples for parent-child trios for nearly 500 sporadic and familial CP cases and clinical information. In addition, the Biobank contains DNA samples for 1,500 controls. A team of geneticists are involved in whole exome/genome sequencing to investigate the genetic causes of CP.

Kylie Porritt

Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences

Dr Kylie Porritt is a Research Fellow for the Transfer Science program of the Joanna Briggs Institute. She has been an active contributor to the field of evidence based health care for over a decade. In her current role she is responsible for developing online educational courses for evidence based health care and is the Course Coordinator for the Master of Public Health Translational Health Science specialisation. Dr Kylie Porritt is an experienced, published researcher having been involved in the conduct of multiple systematic reviews and various health related projects.

Mr Xin Yuan

Postgraduate Candidate
Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences

Hanna Jagtenberg

Faculty of Arts

Hanna Jagtenberg is a PhD candidate in the Department of Anthropology. After her broad foundational education in the Arts & Humanities (BA Language & Culture Studies with a major in History of International Relations, Utrecht University), she specialised in Conflict Studies & Human Rights (MA, Utrecht University), Diplomacy & Foreign Affairs (Postgraduate Diploma, Netherlands Institute of International Relations Clingendael) and African Studies (MPhil, Leiden University).

Mr Thomas Kirch

Postgraduate Student
Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences

Mr Nicholas Sullivan

PhD Candidate
Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences

I am a Ph.D candidate undertaking my research on autonomous robotics. In particular, learning when independent robots should help one another

My main interests are in robotics, automation, artificial intelligence, and computer vision.