Agnes Arthur

Dr Agnes Arthur

Research Group Leader - (MCC)

Adelaide Medical School

Faculty of Health and Medical Sciences

Eligible to supervise Masters and PhD (as Co-Supervisor) - email supervisor to discuss availability.

Skeletal disease such as osteoporosis is caused by the uncoupling of the bone remodelling process. This uncoupling causes the deterioration of the skeleton by a decrease in the production and thus function of bone forming cells and the increase of bone removing cells. This imbalance ultimately results in more brittle bones that have a higher incidence of fracture. Osteoporosis affects over 2 million Australians and costs the health system approximately $20 million/day. With such high prevalence and cost to the Australian health system, it is imperative that we identify novel therapies that limit side effects while treating osteoporosis effectively.

I lead the Musculoskeletal Cellular Communication (MCC) research group within the Mesenchymal Stem Cell (MSC) Laboratory. My group is interested in understanding the communication between MSC and their surrounding microenvironment. This communication is important during (1) bone remodelling, (2) bone disease and (3) repair following trauma. My research focuses on the function of a family of receptor tyrosine kinase molecules, the Eph receptors and ephrin ligands expressed by MSC and within their microenvironment. The projects aim to decipher the function of ephrinB1 on the skeletal stem cells and their derivatives during bone development, postnatal skeletal homeostasis/remodelling, during the onset of osteoporosis and following fracture repair. The research also aims to identify the signalling mechanisms by which ephrinB1/EphB molecules mediate their responses during these processes. This approach could potentially translate into alternative therapeutic treatments for patients with osteoporosis, to prevent fractures in high risk groups.

University of Adelaide, Adelaide Medical Research Committee Small Equipment Award ($1,909) 2019. Chief Investigators: Agnes Arthur and Melissa Cantley.  

University of Adelaide, School of Medicine Equipment Grant. ($23,840) 2019. Chief Investigators: Melissa Cantley and Agnes Arthur 

University of Adelaide, School of Medicine Research Travel Awards ($3000) 2019. Attendance of the ASBMR Conference held in Orlando, Florida, USA

ASBMR Family Care Travel Grant ($400 USD) 2019. Attendance of the ASBMR Conference held in Orlando, Florida, USA

Australian Dental Research Fund #381-2018 ($4,480) 2019. Phenotyping the craniofacial and dental features in a murine model of craniofrontonasal dysplasia (CFND). Chief investigators: Samuel Bereza, Sarbin Ranjitkar, Robin Chi-Weng Yong, Agnes Arthur, Peter Anderson.

International Federation of Musculoskeletal Research Societies (IFMRS) fellowship grant. ($25000 USD) 2018-2019. Note 1 of 2 international fellowships given annually. Principal Investigator: Agnes Arthur.

University of Adelaide, School of Medicine Research Travel Awards ($2870) - Attendance of the ANZBMS Conference held in Queenstown, New Zealand

The Australian Society for Stem Cell Research / National Stem Cell Foundation of Australia travel award ($840) – Attendance of the ISSCR Conference held in Melbourne, Australia

University of Adelaide, School of Medicine Research Travel Awards 2017 ($1000) - Attendance of the ANZBMS conference 2017.

University of Adelaide, School of Medicine Equipment Grant 2016 ($5,040). Chief Investigators: Agnes Arthur, Andrew Zannettino, Stan Gronthos.

University of Adelaide, School of Medicine Research Travel Awards 2016 ($1000) - Attendance of the ANZBMS conference 2016.

Australian Dental Research Fund #44-2014 ($11,363) 2015. The role of EphB/ephrinB activation in allogeneic Dental Pulp Stem Cell mediated dental tissue regeneration following tooth injury. Chief investigators: Stan Gronthos, Agnes Arthur.

National Health & Medical Research Council, Project Grant # APP1083704 (AUD$548,347) 2015-2017. Title: The role of ephrinB1 reverse signalling in osteogenic differentiation during skeletal development and osteoporosis. Chief investigators: Stan Gronthos, Agnes Arthur and Andrew Zannettino. 

RAH Research Fund - Mary Overton Early Career Fellowship #7730 ($250,803) 2013-2016. Principal Investigator: Agnes Arthur.

International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF), Young Investigator Award ($500) 2011

Travel award funded by the ANZBMS 2009

Robinson Institute, University of Adelaide, Publication Award ($1,000) 2009

Robinson Institute, University of Adelaide, Young Investigator Award ($10,000) 2009-2010. Chief Investigator: Agnes Arthur.

Catholic Archdiocese of Sydney, Adult Stem Cell Research Award ($100,000) 2007-2008. Chief Investigators: Stan Gronthos, Simon Koblar and Agnes Arthur

Investigative Cell Biology

Dental Science and Practice I Part I and II

Human Biology IOH Part II

Scientific Basis of Medicine III Part 1 and II

Medical Science Undergraduate Research Placement 

  • Current Higher Degree by Research Supervision (University of Adelaide)

    Date Role Research Topic Program Degree Type Student Load Student Name
    2019 Co-Supervisor Investigating the Role of Eph/ephrin Molecules in Cross-talk Between Bone and Neural Tissue During Development and Skeletal Tissue Repair Master of Philosophy (Medical Science) Master Full Time Miss Nethmi Abeynayake
    2019 Co-Supervisor The Role of the Microenvironment on Bone Remodelling in Periodontitis Master of Philosophy (Dentistry) Master Part Time Mr Nicholas Quirk
  • Other Supervision Activities

    Date Role Research Topic Location Program Supervision Type Student Load Student Name
    2019 - 2019 Co-Supervisor Investigating the role of ephrinB1/EphB2 downstream signalling in mediating osteoclastogenic/osteogenic interactions University of Adelaide Adelaide Medical School Honours Full Time Kellie Wise
    2018 - ongoing Co-Supervisor Craniofacial phenotyping of EFNB1 null mice. University of Adelaide Dentistry Honours Part Time Samuel Bereza
    2017 - 2017 Co-Supervisor Investigating the Role of ephrinB1 During Skeletal Repair Following Fracture University of Adelaide Adelaide Medical School Honours Full Time Daniel Reed
    2015 - 2015 Co-Supervisor EphB2/ephrinB1 Interactions Mediate Osteoblast/Osteoclast Communication Via Gap Junction Proteins University of Adelaide School of Medical Sciences Honours Full Time Ana Klisuric
  • Position: Research Group Leader - (MCC)
  • Phone: 81284695
  • Email:
  • Campus: North Terrace
  • Building: SAHMRI, floor 5 South
  • Org Unit: Adelaide Medical School

Connect With Me
External Profiles